International Bacon Day 2013

long bar

This year, International Bacon Day landed on August 31.

We were lucky enough to have MANY guests for Bacon Day this year! I want to thank everyone who came to participate in Bacon day: my husband Ric, Jimmy, Robin, Morgan, Cameron, Stephen, Travis, Charlie, Aaron, Jill, Billy, Heather and Ronnie. And Creepy Cat joined us, along with Mr. Bacon (thanks Aunt Benna!). Don’t forget to check out the Bacon ‘Stashes aquired!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I did have to work the morning of Bacon Day, but I showed my bacon love by wearing a pink and brown scrub combo. And of course I did my nails!

This year we met up at a home my cousin Stephen, brother Jimmy and his family rented for the Labor Day weekend. We went with a potluck idea. Everyone to bring a recipe to try out. Well, my family always goes above and beyond and of course brought many. 🙂 And of course we had friends that brought their recipes too! I’ll list the full menu below and links to recipes if they were provided:

Breakfast:
Bacon Muffins with Bacon Guava Paste – By: Elle
* We also ate straight bacon strips dipped into the Bacon Guava Paste

Lunch:
Inside-Out BLT’s – By: Stephen
Bacon Mac N Cheese – By: Jimmy
Bacon Salad – By: Charlie
Bacon Scotch Eggs – By: Jill
Bacon Guava Paste Covered Pork Ribs – By: Ric

Snacks/Appetizers:
Bacon-Wrapped Dates – By: Elle
Bacon Rinds – By: Jimmy
Bacon Wrapped Smokies with Brown Sugar and Butter – By: Stephen

Dinner:
Bacon Explosion w/Filling – By: Elle and Ric

Dessert:
Bacon-Wrapped Twinkies – By: Elle and Ric
Bacon Peach Pie – By: Ric
Mocha-Hazlenut Bacon Cream Pastry – By: Elle

Drinks:
BBQ Bloody Mary (with Beer) and Bacon Garnish – By: Stephen
Bacon Champagne – By: Elle


I feel as though this year was a BIG success. We had repeat offenders for bacon day, new faces, old recipes, and new ones. Most of the recipes turned out fantastic! Bacon Peach Pie didn’t do so well this year. We used bacon that was too thick. It does require thin bacon for the top. I also feel that the Bacon Champagne didn’t turn out well. The idea was to put a cooked bacon strip and fruit into a glass and pour chaampagne over it, hoping that the “bubbly” would release some bacon flavor. It did not. But I am determined and will continue my efforts to bring more bacon cocktails to this blog.

I already can’t wait for next year! I’m pretty sure I have the perfect plan…..

I leave you with video and photos of our bacon celebration. I have noted the photos taken by our Official Bacon Day Photographer, Charlie. 🙂 And the video was compliments of my husband, Ric with help from Robin!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



– Elle.

About elle

Crazy cat lady, comic book nerd, and lover of bacon all in one.

Posted on September 11, 2013, in International Bacon Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

