Ric’s Bacon Birthday

My boyfriend, Ric had his birthday on the 28th and requested bacon-related food to be cooked. I was more than happy to help his wish come true.

To begin, he wanted to take Bacon Cupcakes to work. (Yes, the poor thing had to work on his birthday. But don’t feel too bad for him. He works a comic shop.) I used a devils food cake mix, replaced oil with applesauce, and topped with vanilla icing. I was later told that you could not taste the bacon in the cupcake, so maybe I need I need to adjust how much bacon I put in the mix next time. I normally cook an entire package of bacon, set aside about 1/4 of it for topping, and crumble the rest in the mix. I’m sure two packages next time wouldn’t hurt. And maybe I could use some of the bacon grease in the mix or use it to simply grease the cupcake pan. I want to master the Bacon Cupcake one day soon.

Since Ric and I both worked, we just did a bacon dinner. He said he wanted more of a ‘southern dinner with bacon’. He chose Kraft: Velveeta Shells & Cheese with Bacon (added our own bacon on top of it), homemade Mashed Red Potatoes w/Bacon, Collard Greens, Corn Bread, and Beef Ribs with Montreal Seasoning Topped with Bacon and covered in Kraft Honey BBQ Sauce.

The corn bread we got from WalMart’s bakery was terrible. They were individually wrapped so I assumed they would be fresh. Nope. They were dry and required a lot of butter. I should have known better. Cornbread is always best when made in your own oven.

Everything else was delicious but soooo HEAVY. I couldn’t even eat it all. I was really happy with the ribs though. And I am glad I could give Ric the bacon dinner he asked for.


– Elle.





About elle

Crazy cat lady, comic book nerd, and lover of bacon all in one.

Posted on April 30, 2011, in Bacon Experience, Celebrate with Bacon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. carolyn susman

    Wowwwww! I thought I liked bacon! this is quite a challenge, but so creative!

Leave a Reply

