A look to the past: International Bacon Day 2009

In 2009, International Bacon Day was celebrated on September 5. This was the first year I participated in Bacon Day and was thrilled to get started. I purchased maple bacon, brown sugar bacon, turkey bacon, and ham steak (just to have something different).

I began the day by cooking everything up and setting some aside for further recipes. I cooked the ham steak stove top and all the bacon in the oven.

Not too soon before this day I saw a recipe online for bacon cupcakes. I decided I would try it the lazy way by purchasing chocolate cake mix in a box. I used applesauce in place of oil (as I always do with cakes and such), bacon, and vanilla icing. The trick is to use crispy (not burnt) bacon in the batter and it will soften up perfectly while baking with the mix in the oven. And don’t forget to add some crunchy bacon pieces on top of each cupcake when you are done decorating your cupcakes.

I also decided I wanted to try something else for my sweet tooth. The thought of the salty bacon and creamy chocolate seemed to be a good idea. The cupcakes would be subtle but I wanted to try something else. Something more basic. Chocolate covered bacon. I used chocolate chip morsels melted down. (Note: I have not been able to get these things melt right for me since. No matter what method I use.) I simply used the oven baked bacon (maple bacon and turkey bacon) that had cooled to room temperature. I made sure that all excess bacon was blotted off (or else the chocolate would not stick). You will always want to make sure to have a cooling rack or else you will strip the chocolate off the bottom having the chocolate hardens.

My first year of International Bacon day was a lot of fun and I was thrilled to share my creations with people. The next year would be even more creative.


– Elle.





About elle

Crazy cat lady, comic book nerd, and lover of bacon all in one.

Posted on April 20, 2011, in International Bacon Day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

